KraftyKatsBlog

Plastic Canvas Playing Card Holder

Posted on: October 12, 2010

Materials for one Playing Card Holder

  •  Two 3″ Round impressions available here.
  • Lion Brand Yarn 861-109 Vanna’s Glamour, Sapphire. Available here.
  • Dress It Up Buttons – Place your Bet 3583 POKER – available at Michael’s Craft Store
  •  DMC White floss
  •  Red Heart Yarn…Cherry red, worsted, medium
  •  Red Heart Yarn…Black, worsted, medium

 

Step-by-Step Instructions

 

STEP #1:

  • Each of the circles has a raised rim. Using Cherry red yarn, you’re going to stitch around the entire rim.
  • Try to keep your stitches straight. You’ll need to stitch twice in some holes. You can tell by the slant. If it’s too big of a slant just make the next stitch go into the same hole so that it looks straight.
 

STEP #2: 

  • Using the picture below as your guide, stitch twice in each hole using Vanna’s Glamour Sapphire yarn.
  • Your circle will look like the photos below, after you finish step two.

 

  STEP #3:

  • Come up from the back of the outer edge of the circle, go down in the front near the rim, making one straight stitch.
  • Come back up in same hole near the outer edge.
  • Go down and across to the next hole.

  

  • Come up in the next hole near the outer edge, and go down to the rim to make a straight stitch again.
  • Continue all the way around the circle.
  • When you end up where you started, leave a 1/2 inch tail of yarn, and cut off the rest. Glue the tail down on the back side. Step three is finished.

 

Step #4:

  • Using white DMC floss, straight stitch between the black and sapphire yarn.
  • Continue all the way around till you end up where you started. Leave ½” tail. Cut off yarn and glue down tail.

Step #5:

 

  • The middle of the circle is split into 8 sections. In each section there are 4 small holes and one large hole.
  • Photo one, below. Using sapphire yarn stitch twice in each small hole.
  • Photo two, below, shows how one finished section should look.
  • Photo three, below, shows how 6 finished sections should look.
 

All sections are finished. Step five is complete, below.

Step #6:

  • Using black, fill in the center.
  • Step six is finished, below.
 

Step #7:

  • Using black yarn, do a straight stitch between the red and the sapphire.
  • Step seven is finished, below.


 

Step #8:

  • Whipstitch rim, stitch twice in each hole.
  • Go all the way around. Leave ½” tail. Cut off yarn and glue down tail. Step eight is finished, below
  • Make another circle following steps 1-8, so you have two circles.

 

Step #9:

  • Using Blue Metallic Yarn, straight stitch between the black and the red boarder.  Continue all the way around until you end up where you started. Leave ½” tail. Cut off yarn and glue down tail.

Step #10: Sewing the two circles together

  • Place two circles back to back.
  • We want to make an X in one direction then make another X in a different direction.
  • To do this, take a piece of black yarn 4 inches long, and poke your needle with the yarn through the center of the top circle into the bottom circle.
  • Now bring the yarn back through the bottom diagonally up through the top. This makes half the x.
  • Poke your needle with the yarn through the center of the top circle into the bottom circle in the opposite direction.
  • Now bring the yarn back through the bottom diagonally up through the top. This makes a complete x.
  • Step ten is finished, below.


Step #11: 

  • Picture 1, 2 and 3. Glue on your favorite embellishment to the center of the front and the center of the back.


Or you can create the same card holder in any colors of yarn you wish. Here’s an example in pink and hot pink:

Here’s what your card holder looks like finished and ready to use:

Start a card game and let the fun begin.

41 Responses to "Plastic Canvas Playing Card Holder"

Kathy, I wouldn’t leave a tail to glue, I would rather go under stitches on the back side. It leaves the product a lot nicer. Especially if you have longer stitches. When I sew something, the backside looks almost as good as the front side. The first piece of plastic canvas I ever made had all small stitches on the back and couldn’t hardly go underneath. LOL It was a kit I bought back in about 1981. I don’t think I ever finished that wall hanging. I still had to sew little boxes on the front, and something else caught my eye and I started buying books instead of kits. I have a lot of extra plastic canvas books I bought from a friend. She was having trouble seeing to do the work anymore, and I bought all of her books for one price, so I have lots of double copies. Would you be interested in them? I sold a lot of them on my multiply site to friends, but still have lots of the books I need to get off my hands since I’m getting older.

I agree with you, most of the time this is true. It’s better to go under the stitches on the back side, instead of leaving a tail to glue. It leaves the product a lot nicer. But if your sewing both backs together no one is going to see the back so it’s no big deal.

I would be interested in seeing what double copies you have. I have about 30 binders full of loose patterns and about 500 books. I may have them already but you can send pictures of the covers to kathybarwick@att.net.

Kathy, I wouldn’t leave a tail to glue, I would rather go under stitches on the back side. It leaves the product a lot nicer. Especially if you have longer stitches. When I sew something, the backside looks almost as good as the front side. The first piece of plastic canvas I ever made had all small stitches on the back and couldn’t hardly go underneath. LOL It was a kit I bought back in about 1981. I don’t think I ever finished that wall hanging. I still had to sew little boxes on the front, and something else caught my eye and I started buying books instead of kits. I have a lot of extra plastic canvas books I bought from a friend. She was having trouble seeing to do the work anymore, and I bought all of her books for one price, so I have lots of double copies. Would you be interested in them? I sold a lot of them on my multiply site to friends, but still have lots of the books I need to get off my hands since I’m getting older.
sheilaestella@gmail.com
Sheila Brakey
1

Hi Sheila I would Love to know what you have. I do alot of fairs and fundraisers and my plastic canvas peices are big sellers here in Maine

I can be reached by e=mail or at 207-4743137

I would love to have more plastic canvas books, I just started back doing some canvas and I am having fun, I have checked out some books at Jo-Anns and they are $3.95-$6.95 and I just want to enjoy and have fun making things, are you giving them away? or what are you selling them for.

Sent you the pattern in PDF format. Try printing it out this way.

I would like to know where I could buy the2 3″ round impressions forms to make the playing card holders. Is there a store in Mpls. MN that handles them or can I order one from you.
Thank Mary

I have seen these card holders before, but none as nice as this. Love it

I would love to purchase the rounds however I do not like to buy on line. Is there some way that I can send a check directly to you?

You may send a money order to
Kathy Barwick
150 S HWY 160, C-8 #339
Pahrump, NV 89048

Kathy, i just ordered the plastic canvas card holders from your store on etsy, can you send me the tutorial/instructions in pdf form?

I will see what I can do.

Got it! Thanks so much!

I bought some 3″ rounds but they do not have the depressions on them. Will it wok to just make them like coasters and attach them in the center?

I have made the card holders with the flat circles. They don’t hold the cards well at all.You need the Recessed center. I sell them on my Etsy store at http://www.etsy.com/listing/59332585/10-pcs-3-inch-plastic-canvas-circle

What is pdf form? & is there phone number to order plastic canvas?

What is pdf form?
(PDF) is a file format that can’t be changed.
https://www.download-free.com/pdf-reader?source=ga&gclid=CO2fgq6KtrICFYhxQgodAjsAfQ

Is there phone number to order plastic canvas? You can’t call in and order. Ordering is done on-line through my Etsy store.
http://www.etsy.com/shop/kathybarwick

Hi Kathy – just new to this plastic canvas craft & needed to make a card holder (due to arthritis in my hand finding it hard to hold cards) I am getting a little lost at step 3:
Come up from the back and go down in the front near the outer rim of the circle, making one straight stitch.
Come back up in same hole near the outer rim.
Go down and across to the next hole.
How do you come back up in the same hole without unravelling? then go down in the same hole?
Am I missing something?
Thanks in advance for you help -
Laurie
Nanaimo, BC

I see I messed that up. Here is the correction.

STEP #3:
Come up from the back of the outer edge of the circle, go down in the front near the rim, making one straight stitch.
Come back up in same hole near the outer edge.
Go down and across to the next hole.

Come up in the next hole near the outer edge, and go down to the rim to make a straight stitch again.
Continue all the way around the circle.
When you end up where you started, leave a 1/2 inch tail of yarn, and cut off the rest. Glue the tail down on the back side. Step three is finished.

Hope this is more understandable.

Thanks – I think that makes a bit more sense but it will sort of look like this l/i/i/i/ not llllll???

You should have a straight stitch and a slanted stitch, a straight stitch and a slanted stitch and so on till the end.

thanks again! that works much better!

Thank you for the card holder instructions on how to make it especiallythankful for the images that are shown with the instructions.this makes it so much easier to understand

I purchased 2 packages of the 3″ rounds for the playing card holder and one of the packages was short 1 round. The instructions were very clear and I may be ordering more.

Diane, I need to know when did you make this purchase? and how did you make this purchase?

I have no record of you. What site or where did you purchase these from?
I sell on Etsy and this is not an Etsy transaction number, nor a delivery confirmation number.

What do you mean by they are ready to go?

From: Diane Andrews Sent: Sunday, October 21, 2012 Subject: RE: Plastic canvas circles

I have the transaction number 5K3238534J523604N. Just received them on Tuesday and they are already to go.

Thank you,

I hope that this is correct. It appears that I bought these through e-bay. I don’t seem to have the order confirmation handy but I do have the packing slip. I did check my credit cards and I do not see any entry. So at this time I am at a loss too. On my packing slip it says. Ship from: Heather Schwartz

I don’t think I bought them from you!

Thanks for clearing that up. It was driving me nuts! You should have an invoice from Ebay.

I am sorry for the mix up, and I did fond the posting from Pay Pal on my credit card…….

What is the best yarn to use for making the card holders?

I made several and I used mainly 4 ply worsted, but the pattern I had, had several different colors and I used almost any type of yarn as accents

You can really use any kind of yarn and accents you wish.

Materials for one Playing Card Holder
Two 3″ Round impressions
Lion Brand Yarn 861-109 Vanna’s Glamour, Sapphire.
Dress It Up Buttons – Place your Bet 3583 POKER – available at Michael’s Craft Store
DMC White floss
Red Heart Yarn…Cherry red, worsted, medium
Red Heart Yarn…Black, worsted, medium

Could you please tell me where i can buy the plastic disk card holders in Mississauga .Ont. And how much are they a

You will need to do some research. I don’t live in Mississauga .Ont. and don’t have a clue where to get them there. I only sell in the U.S. sorry.

Unless you have a friend who can buy them for you and then mail them to you.

https://www.etsy.com/shop/kathybarwick?section_id=7304563

I bought them at Craft Canada on Vancouver Island 12 disks for $ 2.99 or something like that – really cheap – had a hard time finding them though.

Was wondering if you had a pattern for a larger card holder using two 4 1/2″ plastic canvas circles plus a 3″ smaller circle on top to hold extra cards. I have searched the internet and only found your small one. Hoping you can help me. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

plastic canvas

Plastic Canvas Crafts Secrets

How to spark your inner "idea factory" and take all of your plastic canvas crafts projects from the ordinary to the breathtakingly extraordinary virtually overnight!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

