KraftyKatsBlog

Selling Plastic Canvas Patterns…Is Sometimes Bittersweet.

Posted on: October 1, 2009

I received and e-mail that somewhat brightened up my day. It was from e-PatternsCentral.com. The advertisement was for a variety of their plastic canvas books.

101_8739 

The Think Pink book has one of my original patterns for a breast cancer mouse pad. And I have a few more original patterns listed on their site.  But what caught my attention was that the email contained the very first plastic canvas pattern book I had ever submitted and had published. That was in 1998. I received a check for $1,200.00, for the book Precious Promise Crosses.

101_8740

The original book had 9 uniquely designed crosses. So I was a bit taken aback when I realized they changed the cover. The cross with the word JESUS was gone, along with three other designs. I’m a Christian and I’m proud of it. If someone is offended by the name of Jesus, then I suppose that’s just too bad for them.  I for one would never take His name off of anything even if I thought it would increase sales. I’m grateful to see that my Precious Promises Crosses book is still selling after all of these years.  But it certainly is a bittersweet experience to see they removed the cross with the name of Jesus on it. 

crosses

Why am I talking about this? 

I’m talking about this because over the years I’ve learned a few valuable lessons about selling my original plastic canvas patterns.

The first lesson… When you sell all the rights to your original designs the company that buys them can change anything, like deleting designs and changing the cover anytime they so choose. And there’s nothing you can do about it.  If they delete a pattern, it’s gone for good.  You have no right to try to use it again.

The second lesson…When you sell your patterns you often are given the option of getting paid in one lump sum, or getting paid commissions on each sale over the course of time.  For the Precious Promises Crosses I chose the option of taking one lump sum of $1,200.00. Other patterns I’ve sold to the major plastic canvas crafts publishers I’ve taken commissions on.  But either way, they have the right to do whatever they want with your patterns.

The third lesson…If you want to maintain the integrity of your own original creations, the only other option is to learn how to sell them yourself.  The beauty of this is that you can sell the same pattern to plastic canvas crafters over and over again, for years on end.  That’s exactly what the major plastic canvas crafts publishers do.  And now, with the advent of new technologies and sales platforms such as E-bay and others, you can do the same thing too!

I teach how to turn your passion for plastic canvas into profits in the “You Can Make Money” chapter of my upcoming new 350-page book, Plastic Canvas Crafts Secrets.  Be sure to click on the link and sign up to be notified when the book will be available. 

 Helpful links:

Kathy’s Photo Bucket

Kathy’s Facebook

Kathy’s Flickr

Kathy’s Etsy Store

2 Responses to "Selling Plastic Canvas Patterns…Is Sometimes Bittersweet."

Great points you make, Kathy!

I have to agree with you. Sometimes you just have to take control and do it yourself.

When you sell your original patterns to the major crafts publishers, you lose all control of them.

I admire your integrity, and the work you are doing to help other crafters learnn how to make the most of their passion for plastic canvas crafting.

Thank you Spencer! I appreciate your kind words.

Leave a Reply

plastic canvas

Plastic Canvas Crafts Secrets

How to spark your inner "idea factory" and take all of your plastic canvas crafts projects from the ordinary to the breathtakingly extraordinary virtually overnight!

